Home League Clubs News Tournaments Links Contact Us

News >> Wits Tournament Ups the Ante

Wits Tournament Ups the Ante

by Filipe

The Wits Table Tennis Club is known for its ability to attract athletes from near and far. With 77 athletes from around Gauteng, Western Province and Botswana in attendance at the Wits Table Tennis Open Championships on the 20th March 2010, its reputation remains intact.

The tournament, which forms part of a fund raising initiative by the Wits table tennis playing athletes, provided an atmosphere where competition and camaraderie walked hand-in-hand. And the absence of unsporting or argumentative behaviour by difficult individuals added a relaxing ambience to the proceedings.

From the outset, it was a given that all the seeds would be going all out to prove to the organisers that they were worthy of their tournament rankings. And so it was, until the knockout stages, where upsets became the order of the day.

First, it was Khanyisile, the current SA Ladies Champion. Then Oteng, Simon, Dafriem (Bot,) Arantes, Lloyd, Issie, Ajit, Itumeleng and Zodwa. Then Chetan and Osuji were deposed of, leaving Luke and Keegan to battle it out for top spot. And what a battle it was, with the youthful Keegan pushing the older opponent every bit of the way. But it was not to be. Luke was crowned the victor of the Wits Table Tennis Open Championship for 2010.

Osuji and Chetan regained some of their lost valour by wining the Doubles competition when they beat their Gauteng counterparts, Ajit and Arantes.

All in all, a great tournament. One to be envied by all other practitioners of the sport of Table Tennis.

Thanks to: Wits Sport, Wits TTC, Lotto and GCTTA. But most of all, a big thank you to all the athletes and supporters who made the tournament the success that it was.


Senior Open
Luke Abrahams (WP) Gold
Keegan Lingerveldt (HPC) Silver
Chijioke Osuji Third
Chetan Nathoo Fourth
Third Round
Zodwa (HPC)
Dafriem (Bots)
Second Round
McDonald (Bots)
Itumeleng (HPC)
Aaron (Sed)
Sello (Sed)
Doubles Open
Chetan/Osuji Gold
Arantes/Ajit Silver
Zodwa/Itumeleng (HPC) Third
Joseph/Rorisang (Bots) Fourth