Home League Clubs News Tournaments Links Contact Us

News >> From the pen of the Chairman – 2010 and Onwards

From the pen of the Chairman – 2010 and Onwards

In the blink of an eye, 2010 has hit us, the table tennis community, with the speed of a steam train. And given that it is 2010, a year in which all South Africans will be celebrating the FIFA World Cup Soccer festivities, much in the sense of focus will be demanded from all table tennis enthusiasts just to keep our beloved sport on track and alive.

As is the norm at the beginning of a year, the first contender is the GCTTA AGM. An event that demands that all Affiliates step up to the plate and deliver works of substance. The 2010 event includes the election of new members to fill the seven Executive portfolios that are up for election. Given that the existing Executive have led the Association over the past 4 years to much success, it is hoped that new blood will step forward to carry the Association onwards into the future.

The second contender is the 2009 League and Annual Prize Giving Festival. An event that is dominated by youngsters and frontrunners alike.

As for the rest of the planned activities, the new Executive will tackle and communicate all eventualities in due course. What is known is that the SA Senior and Junior Championships will take place in Cape Town during the September School Holidays – time to start putting in the required base preparations into practice (fitness, footwork, honing of strokes, League and Tournament exposure, etc.)

Various Technical Courses are also on the drawing board. As is the custom, all players, supporters and enthusiasts are encouraged to participate in these so as to advance the existing game knowledge.

For now it is thank you from me to all Affiliates, members of the Executive and fellow players on all the hard work and assistance I’ve enjoyed during 2009. Here’s to the new Executive. May its efforts and works double those achieved by the outgoing Executive.

To one and all, keep smiling and have a brilliant 2010.

Filipe Nunes (Chairman)