Home League Clubs News Tournaments Links Contact Us

News >> Trophies Galore

Trophies Galore for Deserving Successes

By Filipe

The 2009 GCTTA Prize Giving function that was held on the 31st January at the Bosmont Recreation Centre was an exciting affair. And the food on offer, an appetizing delicious treat all round.

Prizes on offer ranged from the personal to the traditional winners circle for efforts during the 2008 GCTTA League season. The personal awards ranged from the Chairman’s awards of recognition to the Head-Coach outstanding achievements awards.

The whole affair transpired in an efficient mode of quick introductions, handing out of awards and a wrapping-up talk by the Chairman of GCTTA.

In walking around the buffet tables, the conversations ranged from past successes to what plans are in the offing for 2009. Interesting and exciting conversations that highlighted the fact that Table Tennis should remain a vibrant sport for a while to come.

The one point that sticks out from the function, was the verbalised expectations of the youngsters in attendance – more successes, more training and more medals. Given these expectations, it is surmised that the Coaching fraternity will have their hands full during 2009.

The various awards handed out were:

Chairman’s Awards: Coach of the Year José da Silva
  Team Coach of the Year Sameera Maal
  Coaching Initiatives Arnold Louw
  For the Love of the Sport Johannes Mathole (Attridgeville)
Head Coach Awards: Outstanding Achievement Danisha Patel
  Outstanding Achievement U17 Boys Team − 2008 SA Junior Championships (Lloyd, Bhavik, Kalpesh, Shivesh)
  Ambassador to the Sport Fahima Sayed
  Best Newcomer Irfaan Essof
  Most Accident Prone Shivesh Dindayal
Outstanding Performance Award: Sameera Maal For winning her 5th Consecutive Senior Ladies Open Title
GCTTA Incentive Awards: Most Improved Junior – Male Lloyd Reddy
  Most Improved Junior – Female  Meenal Manga
SATTB Honorary Life Member: This award was bestowed upon Brian Williams by SATTB at their 2008 AGM in Cape Town
2008 League Season Awards Individual Winners  
    2nd League  Rinaldo Baratti Bronze
      Evans Motaung  Silver
      Sheldon Mayet Gold
    1st League Vivian Reddy Bronze
      Julian Nxumalo Bronze
      Barry Metcalfe Silver
      Lloyd Reddy Gold
    Premier League Sameera Maal Bronze
      Hasmuhk Jeram Bronze
      Ismail Badat Silver
      Chijioke Osuji Gold
  Team Winners      
    2nd League  BFTTC G Bronze
      Anchors F  Silver
      Flames D Gold
    1st League BFTTC D Bronze
      Flames C Silver
      BFTTC C Gold
    Premier League Flames A Bronze
      Maccabi A Silver
      Anchors B Gold
Best League Average by Club   3rd Anchors with 25 points
    2nd Flames with 31 points
    1st BFTTC with 43 points

Special Mention:  The successes achieved by the Veteran and Senior athletes during 2008 was applauded by all - http://gctta.atspace.com/news/2008/sa.html

The highlight of the afternoon was the mention of Cal Morris, who together with an old GCTTA member, Tony Economellis, succeeded in wining the Men’s over 75 doubles Gold at the World Championships in Brazil (http://gctta.atspace.com/news/2008/gold.html) A feat never before attained by any South African Table Tennis athlete.

The sentiments expressed at the function by all in attendance were indeed, well deserved!


Barry BF C

Sameera and Ismael Anchors B


Brian Williams

U17 Boys