Home League Clubs News Tournaments Links Contact Us

Rising Stars Claim Well-deserved Prizes

By Filipe

Once again, the annual GCTTA Prize Giving Function (03/03/07) has come and gone. What remains are many pleasant memories and the smell of well tendered braais; thanks to the kind use of their home by Rolf and Myrna.

The attendance was better than last year but still desirous of improvement. But for those who made the time to attend, it was well worth the effort. The exchange of ideas, opinions and camaraderie was commendable.

The star of the evening was Chijioke Osuji (Maccabi A) who, during the 2006 Winter League Season, cleaned up the Premier League like no other before him. Even the never-say-die Edwin Sisya, the stalwart of the past few years, could not match the athleticism of this rising star.

Others who made their mark were youngster like Lareen Louw and James Morrison (Most Improved Juniors – Female and Male,) Andrew Slabbert who cleaned up Second and Third League, and Lloyd Reddy who claimed a credible second position in First League behind an experienced Umair Jassat.

Other Awards that were presented:

Thank you: 1 Arnold Louw
(for support and assistance 2 Rick Peters
during the year) 3 Naresh Nagin
  4 Loshni Reddy
  5 John Baxter (Director of Sport – Wits)
  6 Blake Wilkins
Emeritus Service:  1 Vivian Reddy 
(for passion and Dedication 2 Arthur Williams (Chairman - GTTB)
to Table Tennis) 3 Sarel Oberholster
  4 Feroza Isaacs
  5 Blue Fountains (As a Club)
  6 Sandra Jooste (City of Joburg - Boskruin)
International Umpires (new):   Jose da Silva
(Congratulations and Well done)     Sarel Oberholster
    Feroza Isaacs
    Neil Du Preez
    Gavin Heffer 
    Filipe Nunes 
Honorary Life Member: SATTB    Margie Luckay

When all was said and done, visible smiles seen all around. What a fitting end to an exciting evening reverberating with the yearly theme of ‘Hectic is as hectic does!’